World Road Race champion Peter Sagan has won the Vélo d’Or which is awarded annually to the rider considered to have performed the best over the year.

Sagan enjoyed an incredibly successful season in the rainbow colours. In addition to retaining the World Championship Road Race title, he also won the Tour of Flanders, Ghent-Wevelgem, and the green jersey at the Tour de France.

At the Tour de France, he took three stage wins and also took stage wins at the Tour de Suisse and Tour of California in addition to winning the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec.

Tour de France winner Chris Froome was runner-up with Nairo Quintana finishing third for the award which was created by the French cycling magazine Vélo Magazine.

Sagan had finished in second place behind Froome for the Vélo d’Or award last season. In 2017, Sagan will race for the Bora-hansgrohe team.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here