The nominees for the RTÉ Sport Awards Sportsperson of the Year in association with Sport Ireland were announced this afternoon and the list includes members of the successful Irish cycling team at the Rio Paralympics. Eoghan Clifford, Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal are amongst the shortlist of 12 nominees.

Clifford won the Men’s C3 30km Time Trial in Rio, where he started as favourite having won two world titles in the event since 2014. In addition, he also won a bronze medal on the track in the C3 Individual Pursuit.

Dunlevy along with her tandem pilot McCrystal won a gold medal at the time trial B event in Rio. They also won a silver medal in the Women’s B Tandem Road Race.

The nominees for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2016 Sportsperson of the Year are –

• Seamus Callanan – The Sunday Game Hurler of the Year capped an incredible year by scoring 13 points to ensure Tipperary’s All Ireland victory.
• Eoghan Clifford – Claimed a road cycling Gold and a track cycling bronze at his first Paralympic Games
• Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal – Picked up Gold and Silver Paralympic Road cycling medals
• Brian Fenton – Dublin’s midfield general continued his phenomenal record of being unbeaten in a Dublin jersey
• Carl Frampton – Became just the second ever Irishman to have held World Titles in two different weight classes
• Denise Gaule – Denise added the Camogie Player of the Year Award to her first O’Duffy Cup in a memorable campaign.
• Jamie Heaslip – The World Rugby Player of the Year nominee was a colossus in Ireland’s victories over South Africa, New Zealand and Australia
• Daryl Horgan – Dundalk’s magic man was the outstanding player in a truly outstanding team in the league and Europe
• Conor McGregor – The Notorious furthered his claim as Ireland’s most renowned sportsman by moving weight to claim his second UFC title
• Annalise Murphy – Annalise came back from her London 2012 heartbreak to claim an Olympic Sailing Silver Medal in Rio
• Paul O’Donovan – Added a World Championship Gold to the Olympic Silver he picked up with his brother in Rio.
• Bríd Stack – Bríd was named ladies footballer of the Year after picking up her 11th All Ireland medal.

How to vote by text:

Voting lines opened at 2pm on Friday, 2 December. Voting lines will close at 10am on Monday, 12 December 2016. Please do not vote outside of the advertised vote window as you will be charged for your vote, but your vote will not count.

To vote by SMS, text A-L representing the sportsperson with the relevant letter to 53125 (ROI & NI).

Each text vote costs 60c or 60p. Please ask permission from the bill payer before you vote. RTÉ voting terms and conditions apply. Service Provider, Phonovation. Tel: 0818 217 100

Text A to 53125 to vote for Seamus Callanan
Text B to 53125 to vote for Eoghan Clifford
Text C to 53125 to vote for Katie George Dunlevy
Text D to 53125 to vote for Brian Fenton
Text E to 53125 to vote for Carl Frampton
Text F to 53125 to vote for Denise Gaule
Text G to 53125 to vote for Jamie Heaslip
Text H to 53125 to vote for Daryl Horgan
Text I to 53125 to vote for Conor McGregor
Text J to 53125 to vote for Annalise Murphy
Text K to 53125 to vote for Paul O’Donovan
Text L to 53125 to vote for Brid Stack


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here