Ryan Mullen has won the International Rider of the Year award from Cycling Ireland with the announcement being made at the governing body’s Awards Night yesterday evening.

It was recognition for the 22 year-old’s incredible 5th place at his first UCI World Time-Trial Championships in Doha, Qatar where he finished just eleven seconds off the podium. The award was voted for by the cycling media.

In his debut season at World Tour level, the Cannondale-Drapac rider also finished Paris-Roubaix at his first attempt and was a member of the team who won the opening stage team time-trial at the Czech Cycling Tour (UCI 2.1).

Amongst the other award winners last night were Grace Young who won the Female Rider of the Year award, Eoin Morton who is the Male Rider of the Year and O’Leary Stone Kanturk CC who won Club of the Year.

The Irish Paralympians, Eoghan Clifford, Colin Lynch and the tandem pairing of Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal received Outstanding Achievement awards along with Robin Seymour and Anna Turvey.

Ger Campbell, Noel Clarke and recently-deceased Richie Byrne were inducted into the Cycling Ireland Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame:
Richie Byrne
Ger Campbell
Noel Clarke

Outstanding Achievement Award:
Katie-George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal
Eoghan Clifford
Colin Lynch
Robin Seymour
Anna Turvey

International Rider of the Year as voted by cycling media:
Ryan Mullen

Membership Awards:
Bike Shop of the Year – Chain Reaction Cycles
Leisure Event of the Year – Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford
Competitive Event of the Year – An Post Rás
Female Rider of the Year – Grace Young
Male Rider of the Year – Eoin Morton
Volunteer of the Year – Billy Shanahan
Coach of the Year – Pat Coyle
Club of the Year – O Leary Stone Kanturk CC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here