Cycling Ireland have announced the line-ups for the various races in the World Road Championships in Yorkshire which take place from the 22nd to 29th of September.

The line-up for the Elite Men’s Road Race in particular is very strong with all five Irish WorldTour riders – Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates), Sam Bennett (BORA hansgrohe), Nicolas Roche (Team Sunweb), Eddie Dunbar (Team Ineos) and Ryan Mullen (Trek Segafredo) named. They will be joined by Conor Dunne (Israel Cycling Academy). However, the team was selected prior to Nicolas Roche’s crash in the Vuelta which forced him to abandon the race. The representative for the Elite Men’s Time Trial is to be confirmed.

Alice Sharpe (WCC Team) is the sole representative in the Elite Women’s Road Race and she has had some impressive results this season including 7th overall and 7th on a stage of Kreiz Breizh Elites Dames, 8th at GP Cham – Hagendorn and 16th at Festival Elsy Jacobs. Kelly Murphy and Anna Turvey line up in the Elite Women’s Time Trial.

Fresh from his stage win at the Tour de l’Avenir, 18 year-old Ben Healy will line up in the Men’s U23 Road Race. His Team Wiggins Le Col team mate Michael O’Loughlin joins him in the U23 Time Trial.

Archie Ryan and Kevin McCambridge are the two riders in the Junior Men Road Race with Finley Newmark and McCambridge selected for the Time Trial.

Lara Gillespie, who recently claimed Ireland’s first medal at a Junior Track World Championships by winning bronze in the Individual Pursuit at the UCI Junior Track World Championships will line up in the Junior Women’s Road Race alongside Maeve Gallagher and Lucy O’Donnell and Gillespie has also been selected for the Time Trial.

World Road Championships – Team Selection – Yorkshire 2019

Elite Men Road Race
Dan Martin
Sam Bennett
Nicolas Roche
Eddie Dunbar
Ryan Mullen
Conor Dunne

Elite Men TT

Elite Women Road Race
Alice Sharpe

Elite Women Time Trial
Kelly Murphy
Anna Turvey

U23 Road Race
Ben Healy

U23 Time Trial

Ben Healy
Michael O’Loughlin

Junior Men Road Race
Archie Ryan
Kevin McCambridge

Junior Men Time Trial
Finley Newmark
Kevin McCambridge

Junior Women Road Race
Lara Gillespie
Maeve Gallagher
Lucy O’Donnell

Junior Women Time Trial
Lara Gillespie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here