Following on from his wins on the opening two stages of the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey (2.UWT), Sam Bennett continued his winning streak by taking the victory on today’s 128.6-kilometre stage from Fethiye to Marmaris.

Once again, Bennett’s Bora-hansgrohe team controlled the peloton and ensured that the three breakaway riders – Greg Daniel (Trek-Segafredo), Ferit Samli (Turkish National Team) and Thomas Deruette (WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect) – were pulled back with 10 kilometres to go

A number of riders including Edoardo Zardini (Bardiani – CSF) and Diego Ulissi (UAE Team EMirates) tried to go clear but their efforts were nullified. The peloton split on the final climb but Bennett was positioned well.

Bora-hansgrohe moved to the front of the peloton inside the final kilometres and the Irish sprinter once again proved fastest in the run to the line beating Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) and Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates) into second and third places respectively. In doing so, he extended his lead in the leader’s turquoise jersey going into tomorrow’s fourth stage from Marmaris to Selcuk.

More on this later.

1 Sam Bennett (BORA-hansgrohe 3:25:26
2 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo)
3 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates)
4 Manuel Belletti (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia)
5 Andrea Vendrame (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)
6 Francesco Gavazzi (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia)
7 Vincenzo Albanese (Bardiani-CSF)
8 Eduard Prades(Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)
9 Jonas Koch (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)
10 Ahmet Örken (Turkey) all st



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here