Grand Tour winners Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde have been confirmed for Movistar Team’s Tour de France squad and the team will announce who will fill the other seven spots following on from the National Championships.

Quintana will line up for the race after five weeks break from racing. The Colombian finished in 2nd place behind Tom Dumoulin at the Giro d’Italia last month and has not raced since.

Valverde meanwhile has been enjoying an incredibly successful season. The Spaniard has taken numerous victories including the overall wins at Volta Ciclista a Catalunya and Vuelta al Pais Vasco in addition to Liège-Bastogne-Liège and Flèche Wallonne.

Eusebio Unzué has selected twelve candidates to fulfil the seven remaining spots: Andrey Amador, Daniele Bennati, Carlos Betancur, Jonathan Castroviejo, Alex Dowsett, Imanol Erviti, Rubén Fernández, Jesús Herrada, Dani Moreno, Nelson Oliveira, José Joaquín Rojas and Jasha Sütterlin.

The 104th Tour de France starts on July 1st in Düsseldorf, Germany.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here