Six MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung 6 riders have been included in the list of nominees announced today for the African Cyclist of the Year Trophy.

The nominees were announced by the organisers of the Tropicala Amissa Bongo as they have always been, since the event initiated the award back in 2012.

The African Cyclist of the Year will be voted for by managers, coaches, officials, African and European cycling journalists and the jury will once again be chaired by Bernard Hinault, the 5 time Tour de France Champion.

Natnael Berhane who was the inaugural recipient of the award back in 2012 is once again up for nomination. As is our 2013 winner, Louis Meintjes. Daniel Teklehaimanot, Merhawi Kudus, Youcef Reguigui and Jacques Janse van Rensburg were also included in the 20 rider nominee list for 2015.

The nominees are:

Eritrea: Natnael Berhane (MTN-Qhubeka), Mekseb Debesay (Bike Aid), Merhawi Kudus (MTN-Qhubeka), Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka)

Algeria: Adil Barbari (Centre Mondial UCI), Abdelkader Belmohktar (Groupement Sportif Pétrolier), Youcef Reguigi (MTN-Qhubeka)

Morocco: Soufiane Haddi (Skydive Dubaï), Mouhssine Lahsaini, Salaheddine Mraouni

Rwanda: Valens Ndayisenga (Centre Mondial UCI), Jean-Bosco Nsengimana, Bonaventure Uwizeyimana

South Africa: Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge), Jacques Janse van Rensburg (MTN-Qhubeka), Louis Meintjes (MTN-Qhubeka)

Burkina Faso: Rasmané Ouedraogo

Clovis Kamzong

Ethiopia: Tsgabu Grmay (Lampre-Merida)

Tunisia: Rafaa Chtioui (Skydive Dubaï)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here