Yves Lampaert was awarded his first Flandrien of the Year prize on Tuesday evening, in Ostend, after a season that saw the native of Izegem become the first rider in history to win Dwars door Vlaanderen on consecutive years, a triumph followed just two months later by the National Road Race Title in Binche, where he led home a Quick-Step Floors 1-2-4.

In September, less than two months after making his debut at the Tour de France – where he came close to a stage victory twice, in Roubaix and on the famous Champs-Élysées avenue – Lampaert helped Quick-Step Floors win the gold medals at the World TTT Championships in Innsbruck.

“This trophy means a lot to me, especially as it comes at the end of my best season since turning pro, one on which I am very motivated to build in 2019. I want to thank Patrick Lefevere and Quick-Step Floors for their trust and opportunities I get here, because without them I wouldn’t be where I am today. I will continue to ride for the team and seize every chance that arises. I’m young, can still improve and I am confident that many more satisfactions will come in the near future”, a delighted Lampaert said after taking home the trophy.

Yves Lampaert became the third Quick-Step Floors rider to pick up the Flandrien of the Year award, after Paolo Bettini (2003, 2006, 2007) and Tom Boonen (2004, 2005, 2012).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here