The Tour de France organisation have announced their wild card selections for this year’s race, and Sam Bennett’s Bora Argon 18 team have been announced amongst the selected teams.

As expected, French teams Cofidis, Europcar and Bretagne-Séché_Environnement were given the nod, with the two other places going to MTN Qhubeka and Bora.

Bora, or Team Net App Endura as they were known last year, performed admirably in the 2014 race. Czech rider Leopold Konig finished in 7th place overall, and with news that German TV would be covering the race again, it provided the team with an even better chance of being selected.

After a great debut season last year, Bennett will be hopeful of being one of the nine selected to start the race for his team.