Movistar Team have announced a shortlist of twelve riders for the 2017 Vuelta a España, which starts in Nîmes (France) on Saturday, August 19th.

Twelve riders have been announced on the shortlist with the nine-man team set to be announced in early August.

Winner Anacona, Jorge Arcas, Carlos Betancur, Richard Carapaz, Rubén Fernández, Gorka Izagirre, Dani Moreno, Nelson Oliveira, Antonio Pedrero, Dayer Quintana, José Joaquín Rojas and Marc Soler are the shortlisted riders for Eusebio Unzué’s squad.

The official lineup will be confirmed after the team competes at the Clasica a San Sebastián (Saturday 29th), Tour of Poland (29th – August 4th), Circuito de Getxo (Monday 31st), Vuelta a Burgos (August 1st-5th) and the BinckBank Tour (7th-13th).

The team endured a difficult Tour de France which saw Alejandro Valverde crash out of the race on the opening stage in Dusseldorf and he was subsequently diagnosed with a fractured left kneecap and a fractured talus.

Their team leader Nairo Quintana also struggled in France, finishing in 12th place overall, having already raced the Giro d’Italia in May. The Colombian won the Vuelta last year, with Chris Froome and Johan Esteban Chaves finishing second and third respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here