Marcel Kittel (Etixx-Quick Step) has won the opening stage of the Dubai Tour today outsprinting Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) at the end of the 179 kilometre stage from Dubai to Fujairah.

After some early attempts by riders to escape the bunch, Loic Vliegen (BMC), Martin Mortensen (One Pro Cycling), Charles Planet (Novo Nordisk), Marc Soler (Movistar), Soufiane Haddi (Skydive Dubai) and Jesus Alberto Rubio (Al Nasr Pro Cycling Team Dubai) eventually formed the break of the day.

Behind in the peloton, Etixx-QuickStep and Team Dimension Data did the bulk of the work and brought the break back with 10 kilometres remaining setting up a bunch sprint.

After receiving a great lead-out from his team, Kittel came off the wheel of Matteo Trentin to take the win with none of his rivals able to get close to him.

Thursday’s 183km second stage to Jumeirah Palm can also be expected to end in a bunch sprint.

1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Etixx-QuickStep 3:35:21
2 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Dimension Data
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
4 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
5 Andrea Palini (Ita) SkyDive Dubai
6 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana
7 Chris Opie (GBr) One Pro Cycling
8 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky
9 Michal Kolar (Svk) Tinkoff
10 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) Al Nasr Pro Cycling Team – Dubai



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here