The Belgian cyclocross championships at the weekend saw an epic battle between Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb – Napoleon Games), Tom Meeusen (Telenet Fidea Cycling Team), Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team), Sven Nys (Crelan – AA Drink Team), Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team) and Rob Peeters (Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Cycling Team).

Under 23 sensation Van Aert was clear favourite before the race, based on his form this season. However, the muddiness of the course was predicted to cause problems, and it did.

Here’s the action from the last lap in the battle to win the black, yellow and red jersey.