Katharine Smyth (Ballymena Road Club) continued her excellent season by becoming the 2019 National Road Series champion in Whitechurch, Cork.

Agnieszka Wozniak (Strata3VeloRev) took the win at the Cork GP as she out-sprinted Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) in a two-up sprint to the line, with the pair having been away all day. However it wasSmyth who topped the overall points ranking after seven races.

“It was an exciting one that’s for sure, said Smyth. “It started off quite slow as we had a headwind.Then about 10km into the race we had a crash which left me with a bent derailleur and I was stuckin the biggest gear for the rest of the race. I had my teammate Eileen (Burns) up the road in the breakaway and my intention was to get across but she was too strong.”

Smyth is the current All-Ireland Masters champion and this result caps off an excellent year for the Ballymena Road Club rider.

“It’s been a great year for me and I’m delighted to finish the year on a high so I’m really happy.”

1. Agnieszka Wozniak (Strata3VeloRev)
2. Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC)
3. Katharine Smyth (Ballymena RC)
4. Lucy O’ Donnell (Verge IRL)
5. Eve McCrystal (Strata3VeloRev)
6. Maura Claffey (UCD)
7. Yvonne Doran (Scott Orwell)
8. Laura Campbell (BRC)
9. Niamh O’Dwyer (TCRacing)
10. Nessa Rochford (DeRonde Cork)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here