The Cycling Ireland National Championships Road Races start this weekend, with the elite women and junior men racing today, and the senior men and junior women competing on Sunday.

The 17.56-kilometre circuit in Collooney, Co. Sligo will be a testing one which is anticipated will lead to close racing. The most significant challenge is at the 7.5-kilometre point on the circuit, where there is a significant climb which is 1.5 kilometres in length with an average gradient of 12%.

“I think the hill will eventually take its toll, but it mightn’t be the deciding factor,” said Cycling Ireland Performance Coach Neill Delahaye. “I think that everyone will be apprehensive of the hill, and it will grind people down and have a wearing effect. But I think that on the last lap if you can crest the hill and have a gap, then you have a good chance of winning.”

The elite women will face six laps for a total of 105 kilometres. Lydia Boylan (WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling) returns to defend her title but will face stiff competition from the likes of Lauren Creamer (Brotherton Cycles) and Ellen McDermott (Boompods EDCO NRG) who also finished on the podium last year. If Boylan can achieve the win, it will mark her fourth consecutive National Championship Road Race victory.

Amongst the other riders who can be expected to be in contention include Eve McCrystal (Garda Cycling Club) who leads the Cycling Ireland rankings, the Ballymena Road Club duo of Katharine Smyth and Eileen Burns and Fiona Guihen (Black Rose Racing).

Kelly Murphy (Chapter 2) who won the Elite Women’s Time-Trial on Thursday ahead of Burns and McCrystal is clearly in good form and will be another name to watch out for.

Start List


1 Lydia Boylan WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling Senior Women
2 Michelle Geoghegan Autoglas Wettern Cycling Team Senior Women
3 Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club Senior Women
4 Joanne Regan Ballymena Road Club Master Women
5 Katharine Smyth Ballymena Road Club Senior Women
6 Laura Campbell Ballymena Road Club Senior Women
7 Hilary Hughes VC Ériu Senior Women
8 Imogen Cotter VC Ériu Senior Women
9 Mia Griffin VC Ériu Senior Women
10 Orla Walsh VC Ériu Senior Women
11 Aine Donegan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club Senior Women
12 Breda Horan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club Senior Women
13 Orla Hendron Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club Master Women
14 Nessa Rochford De Ronde Van Cork CC Master Women
15 Sinnead Oakes De Ronde Van Cork CC Master Women
16 Lydia Gurley Aerocoach Senior Women
17 Emma Desmond Arcane Cycling Team Senior Women
18 Fiona Guihen Black Rose Racing Senior Women
19 Ellen McDermott Boompods EDCO NRG Senior Women
20 Lauren Creamer Brotherton Cycles Senior Women
21 Kelly Murphy Chapter 2 Senior Women
22 Eve McCrystal Garda Cycling Club Master Women
23 Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare Cycling Club Senior Women
24 Laura Banfield McNally Swords CC Senior Women
25 Lisa LAMONT mellowVELO Bicycle Cartel Senior Women
26 Claire Ní Reachtagáin North Tipperary Wheelers Senior Women
27 Jennifer Neenan Sundrive Track Team Senior Women
28 Niamh Stephens TC Racing Senior Women
29 Niamh O’Dwyer TC Racing Senior Women
30 Jennifer Bates Team Gerard-DHL Senior Women
31 Alice Sharpe Torelli-Brother Senior Women
32 Maura Claffey UCD Cycling Club Senior Women
33 Arron Fox Un-Attached Leinster Senior Women
34 Sally McHugh Un-Attached Leinster Senior Women
35 Valerie Considine Usher Irish Road Club Master Women
36 Mary Daly Westport Covey Wheelers CC Master Women


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here