The 2016 World Bike Packing Championships were held recently and the title was taken by Etixx – Quick-Step mechanic Nicolas Coosemans.

The objective of the contest which was promoted by Scicon was to establish who could pack a bike in their Scicon AeroComfort 2.0 TSA bag in the quickets time possible.

Coosemans competed against mechanics from five other World Tour teams and the Belgian completed the task in an impressive 3 minutes 1 second which was 25 second faster than second-placed finished Alejandro Torralbo Pulido from Tinkoff.

Nicolas Daniel from Cofidis placed third in 4’01” with mechanics from Ag2R-La Mondial, Trek-Segafedo and ORICA-GreenEdge completing the line. The times of all entrants is shown below:

World Bike Packing Champs

The organisers had set certain rules including that for every mistake a 10 second time penalty applied, and that the mechanic had to pack the bike without any help or influence.

Below is a video of Coosemans in action.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here