Eddie Dunbar has been included in the six-man Team INEOS line-up for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain which begins in Glasgow on Saturday (7 September).

Former winner Dylan van Baarle and Pavel Sivakov will headline the team which also includes Michal Golas and Gianni Moscon. Ben Swift, whose participation in the race was confirmed last week, completes their line-up.

Irishman Dunbar finished third in this year’s Tour de Yorkshire (2.HC) having taken third place on the final stage. More recently, he finished sixth overall at the Tour de Wallonie (2.HC). It will the 22 year-old’s second time to line up at the race having previously taken part in 2015.

Dylan van Baarle, the 2014 winner of the UK’s biggest race, has since finished fifth in 2016 and eighth overall in 2015 since being crowned the champion five years ago. The Dutchman formed part of INEOS’ Tour de France team that helped Egan Bernal and Geraint Thomas finish first and second overall in July.

Now in his second year as a professional, Pavel Sivakov (22) finished ninth overall in the prestigious Giro d’Italia in May. He also enjoyed overall success in the five-day Tour of the Alps in May, as well as the seven-day Tour of Poland at the start of August.

Golas placed ninth in the 2013 Tour of Britain and won the Eisberg sprints jersey three years earlier. A top-10 finisher in the prestigious Paris-Roubaix and Il Lombardia races, Moscon will make his race debut next week.

The OVO Energy Tour of Britain covers 1,267 km from its start in George Square in Glasgow on Saturday through to the Greater Manchester finale a week later.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here