The Elite Women Time Trial at the UCI Road World Championships in Yorkshire was expected to see history repeat itself and see yet another hat trick of rainbows, this time for Annemiek van Vleuten of the Netherlands.

However, a dominant performance, one unrivalled at this level, saw 22-year-old American, Chloe Dygert finish almost two minutes in front of returning favourite van Vleuten and a minute and a half in front of runner up, Anna van der Breggen.

The early pace came from Belarusian Alena Amialiusik, but the real story of the day would come from Dygert, who passed no less than eight riders on her way to victory.

It’s becoming a case of always the bridesmaid and never the bride for Anna van der Breggen, as the reigning road race world champion finished second for the fourth time in five years.

She put in a great ride and set a fantastic time that on any other day would’ve seen the Dutch rider finish first overall, but it was not to be and her eyes will now be on retaining Saturday’s road race crown.

With van der Breggen sat in second place behind Dygert, only van Vleuten could change the standings, but the 37-year-old could only finish with a bronze medal after the two dominant displays ahead of her.

1 Chloe Dygert Owen (United States) 0:42:11
2 Anna Van der Breggen (Netherlands) 0:01:32
3 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Netherlands) 0:01:52
4 Amber Leone Neben (United States) 0:02:38
5 Lisa Klein (Germany) 0:02:40
6 Marlen Reusser (Switzerland) 0:03:02
7 Leah Thomas (United States) 0:03:12
8 Lucinda Brand (Netherlands) 0:03:15
9 Alena Amialiusik (Belarus) 0:03:17
10 Lisa Brennauer (Germany) 0:03:19
11 Amanda Spratt (Australia) 0:03:57
12 Karol-Ann Canuel (Canada) 0:04:23
13 Omer Shapira (Israel) 0:04:29
14 Lisa Nordén (Sweden) 0:04:30
15 Juliette Labous (France) 0:04:32
16 Alice Barnes (Great Britain)
17 Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy) 0:04:35
18 Pernille Mathiesen (Denmark) 0:04:36
19 Anastasiia Chursina (Russian Federation) 0:04:37
20 Anna Kiesenhofer (Austria) 0:04:39
21 Vita Heine (Norway) 0:04:57
22 Elise Chabbey (Switzerland) 0:05:09
23 Louise Hansen (Denmark) 0:05:15
24 Kelly Murphy (Ireland) 0:05:32
25 Tatsiana Sharakova (Belarus) 0:05:33
26 Hayley Simmonds (Great Britain) 0:05:35
27 Olga Zabelinskaya (Uzbekistan) 0:05:42
28 Olga Shekel (Ukraine) 0:05:52
29 Eri Yonamine (Japan) 0:05:54
30 Audrey Cordon Ragot (France) 0:05:56
31 Katrine Aalerud (Norway) 0:06:00
32 Ashleigh Moolman-pasio (South Africa) 0:06:15
33 Julie Van de Velde (Belgium) 0:06:22
34 Anna Turvey (Ireland)
35 Vittoria Bussi (Italy) 0:06:28
36 Anna Plichta (Poland) 0:06:33
37 Rotem Gafinovitz (Israel) 0:06:52
38 Teniel Campbell TTO 0:07:17
39 Gloria Rodriguez Sanchez (Spain) 0:07:18
40 Tiffany Keep (South Africa)
41 Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez (Spain) 0:07:52
42 Gillian Ellsay (Canada) 0:07:59
43 Andrea Ramírez Fregoso (Mexico) 0:08:33
44 Maria Novolodskaya (Russian Federation) 0:08:38
45 Desiet Kidane (Eritrea)
46 Valeriya Kononenko (Ukraine) 0:08:55
47 Agua Marina Espinola (Paraguay) 0:09:08
48 Fernanda Yapura (Argentina) 0:09:11
49 Agusta Edda Bjornsdottir ISL 0:09:39
50 Ting Ting Chang (Chinese Taipei) 0:10:11
51 Ana Paula Polegatch (Brazil) 0:10:29
52 Latefa Alyaseen (Kuweit) 0:19:37
53 Noura Alomairi (Kuweit) 0:20:29


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here