Lotto Soudal’s Jens Debusschere sprinted to victory at Dwars door Vlaanderen this afternoon, narrowly beating Frenchman Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie). It was an exciting finish with Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) getting caught with only 250 metres remaining.

In the closing metres, Coquard started to celebrate thinking that he had won, but instead Debusschere was first across the line.

Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) was third in the sprint after this team did much of the work in chasing down Van Avermaet.

Prior to the start of the race, the peloton held a minute’s silence in memory of the victims of yesterday’s terrorist attacks in Brussels.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here