Flanders Classics have been posting a series of films this week going behind the scenes of various editions of the Tour of Flanders and the latest video is from the 2017 race.

Philippe Gilbert won the 101st edition after he attacked with more than 50 kilometres to go, on the long and iconic Oude Kwaremont, leaving behind the group which emerged on another legendary climb, Muur-Kapelmuur, with 95 kilometres remaining, where Tom Boonen had upped the tempo as they rode over the hill’s steepest climb, forcing a split which turned out to be decisive.

Second place went to another Belgian, Greg Van Avermaet of the BMC Racing Team, beating Dutch riders Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step Floors) and Dylan van Baarle from Cannondale–Drapac in a three-up sprint finish for the podium placings.

In addition to footage from the race, the film also includes scenes with Tom Steels and Wilfried Peeters in the Quick-Step Floors team car and footage from the commentary boxes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here