The French UCI Continental team Armée de Terre will not continue next season following on from a decision by the Ministry of the Armed Forces to stop funding the team, according to Le Parisien.

On Friday morning, the team staff made the announcement to the riders at the barracks at Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

Rumours had been circulating in recent days that the team would stop and this resulted in a petition to continue the team gaining more than 10,00 signatures.

According to a statement from the army, they will meet the financial commitments to riders still under contract “but if they want to continue their cycling career at the highest level, they will have to find another team.”

The team was started in 2011 and moved to Pro Continental level in 2015. Amongst the riders who raced for Armée de Terre are Julian Alaphilippe (Quick Step), Julien Duval (AG2R-La-Mondiale), Marc Sarreau and Benjamin Thomas (FDJ).

The 13 riders still under military contract are: Bryan Alaphilippe, Fabien Canal, Roman Campistrous, Bastien Duculty, Thibaut Ferasse, Morgan Kneisky, Kevin Lebreton, Romain Le Roux, Jordan Levasseur, Romain Le Roux, Jimmy Raibaud, Thomas Rostollan, Steven Tronet.

Amongst their 24 wins this season were Tro Bro Léon, Finistère Tour, stages at the Four Days of Dunkerque, Tour de Bretagne, Tour of Luxembourg, Tour of Portugal and An Post Rás


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here