Aqua Blue Sport have been announced by race organisers A.S.O. as one of the seven wildcard teams to line up in both La Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège in April.

The other teams announced for La Flèche Wallonne alongside the Irish Pro Continental team are Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (FRA), Direct Energie (FRA), Fortuneo Vital Concept (FRA), Sport Vlaanderen Baloise (BEL), WB Veranclassic Aquality Project (BEL) and Wanty – Groupe Gobert (BEL) who will line up alongside the eighteen WorldTour teams.

Six of those teams will also line up in Liège-Bastogne-Liège with Roompot Nederlandse Loterij replacing Fortuneo Vital Concept in La Doyenne.

The 200.5-kilometre La Flèche Wallonne which starts this year in Binche takes place on 19 April and features eight categorised climbs, including three ascents of the Mur de Huy (1.3-kilometres at 9.6%).

The riders will tackle two 29-kilometre laps at the end, which also includes the Côte d’Ereffe (2.1-kilometres at 5%) and Côte de Cherave (1.3-kilometres at 8.1%) in addition to the Mur de Huy.

Last year’s race was won by Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team) who beat two Etixx-Quick Step riders to the line: Julian Alaphillipe and Dan Martin.

At Liège-Bastogne-Liège, the riders will face ten categorised climbs on the way to the finish in Ans. Last year’s race was won by Team Sky’s Wout Poels ahead of Michael Albasini and Rui Costa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here