The 17th edition of the Tour du Rwanda (UCI 2.2) starts next weekend and below is a great promo video for the race.

The eight-day race starts and finishes in Kigali and features a mix of national teams from Africa such as Algeria, South Africa, Gabon and Morocco and also a number of teams from Europe, Australia and the United States including Team Novo Nordisk Development and Team Haute-Savoie Rhône-Alpes.

Amongst those who have won the race in recent years include top Rwandan rider Adrien Niyonshuti and Daniel Teklehaimanot of Eritrea who wore the King of the Moutains jersey in this year’s Tour de France.

Last year’s race was won by home rider Valens Ndayisenga who returns to defend his title. Ndayisenga is the current Rwandan time-trial champion.

The race has been part of the UCI Africa Tour since 2009 and it’s extremely popular with the Rwandan people as they flock to watch the race.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here